How to archive and delete clients

It’s important to keep an updated list of your active clients at all times, but it’s nice to keep past clients on file too… Check helps you do both easily.

Let’s talk about how to archive and delete clients. 

Archiving Clients

  1. Go to the Clients Tab and select the client you would like to archive.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of their profile and tap the "Archive Client" button.
  3. Tap "Yes" to confirm archiving the client.

This is going to hide them from your list of clients while preserving all of their contact information and transaction history.

Now, chances are that if you’re archiving a client, you haven’t done anything for them in a while and you don’t have any jobs coming up. If you do have any outstanding jobs, they will be cancelled and any recurring jobs will be paused. We don’t recommend archiving clients that have jobs coming up OR clients that have a non-zero account balance. We would consider those clients to still be “Active”. It’s also good to note that you can unarchive clients at any time… we’ll talk about that soon.

Viewing and Restoring Archived Clients

  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner of the screen and select "View Archived Clients."
  2. You can still tap into these profiles and edit them in the same way you would an active client. Tap "Options" to add a charge, payment, send an invoice and tap "Activity" to see all transactions associated with the client.
  3. To unarchive, scroll to the bottom of the profile and tap the "Unarchive Client" button and "Yes" to confirm. 

The client will now show up in your active clients list found in the Client Tab. 

Tap the bar at the top to go back to your active clients list.

Deleting a Client

Deleting a client is exactly what it sounds like… permanently erasing any and all information associated with a client. That’s why we recommend archiving instead of deleting for any client that has transaction history with you since you can have unlimited clients for free, whether active or archived.

  1. Tap on the client's name in the "Clients Tab" to open their profile.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and tap "Delete Client," and "Yes" to confirm. 

Now, you’ll always have a clear picture of your active clients while maintaining detailed records of past clients helping you feel more organized and in control of your business.

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact Support

Related Articles

All Articles

It’s time to ditch the notebook.

We provide all of the tools you need to get started for free!

Download Check

Download in the Apple App Store badge
Download in the Google Play Store badge

Send yourself a link:

Awesome! Your link is on its way.
Oops! Something went wrong. Make sure you're inputting a valid number.